Marriage Licenses

Marriage Licenses will be issued Monday through Friday by appointment from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. in the Clerk's Office, Room 201 of the Courthouse.
To be married in the State of Indiana, a couple must have a marriage license. To apply for a marriage license in Indiana, both you and your future spouse must appear in person at the Clerk's Office in an Indiana county where one of you resides. For out-of-state residents, apply for a license in the Indiana county where the marriage will be solemnized.
Before you apply for a marriage license, familiarize yourself with the process outlined below.
1: Are you eligible to be married in Indiana?
Age. The Clerk can issue a marriage license if:
  • Both applicants are eighteen (18) years of age or older;
  • Both individuals are at least sixteen (16) years of age;
  • One (1) of the individuals is not more than four (4) years older than the other individual if the other individual is sixteen (16) or seventeen (17) of age;
  • Each individual who is less than eighteen (18) years of age that has been granted a court order under IC 31-11-7 granting the individual approval to marry and completely emancipating the individual. Case court fees apply (even if the Judge denies the marriage).

Exclusions. The Clerk cannot issue a marriage license if:

  • Either applicant is under the influence of drugs or alcohol when applying;
  • Applicants are more closely related than second cousins (though there is an exception if you are first cousins and both at least 65 years of age).
  • Either applicant has been judged to be of unsound mind, unless the adjudication has been removed.
  • Either applicant is a lifetime sex or violent offender, unless the individual submits an affidavit stating under the penalties of perjury that the individual has provided written notice of the person's (A) intent to marry and (B) intended married name to the local law enforcement authority in the county of conviction and in the person's county of residence.

See Indiana Code 31-11 ( for more information about state marriage laws.

2:  When to apply

A marriage license is valid for 60 days from the date it is issued, and couples may be married as early as the same day. Couples who do not marry within the 60 days must apply for a new license before marrying.

3:  What to take to the Clerk's Office

Identification. Be sure to bring one of the following forms of identification to prove your identity and date of birth:

  • Current, valid driver's license or state-issued ID card.
  • Passport.
  • Birth Certificate.

Indiana state law (IC 31-11-6) includes "any written evidence of the individual's date of birth that is satisfactory to the clerk." In addition, if this documentation is in any language other that English, it may be necessary to have it translated and notarized before submitting it to the clerk. Because local policies vary by county, please contact the clerk's office in advance to ensure you have all the required documents.

You will also be required to provide your Social Security Number, although your Social Security Card is not required.

If you were previously married, you will need to provide the date your marriage ended.  

Genealogical Information. The Clerk's Office will collect some family information from you that will be reported to the Indiana State Library (by law) for the purpose of genealogical research. You will need to provide the following for both parents:

  • Full Name.
  • Last known address.
  • Birthplace (state or foreign country).

4:  How Much It Costs

Effective July 1, 2021, the marriage license fee will be $25.00 if one or both parties are Indiana residents and $65.00 for out-of-state residents. Huntington County charges an additional document fee of $1.00 and $3.00 for the copy to be a Certified Marriage License (required for name change at BMV, SSN, etc.). Huntington County requires these fees to be paid in cash, credit or debt card. Total cost of license and one certified copy $29.00. Additional Certified Marriage Licenses can be purchased for $4.00 each.

If you are eligible as outlined above, have all the necessary documentation, and you're ready to apply for a marriage license, you can apply at the Clerk's Office in the county where you plan to file.

While you will still have to appear at the Huntington Clerk's Office to complete the process and receive your license (as required by law), starting your application online will save you time at the Clerk's Office.

Start Your Application:

    The Clerk's Office will perform wedding ceremonies at the Courthouse by appointment only.